Explorer

an explorer's toolkit.

I have been using the book “How to be an Explorer of the World” by the very brilliant Keri Smith. The book presents the reader with projects and tools to promote investigation, develop inquisitiveness, encourage stimuli to novelty, break out of routine thought patterns, and ultimately encourage playfulness.

I am also writing a paper on the work of the artist Nina Katchadourian, who I discovered through “How to be an Explorer of the World”, and am examining her work in conjunction with theories of play and creativity. For me her work expresses a beautifully humorous view of the world that has been filtered and reprocessed through a very playful mind. From writing this paper I’m hoping to get an insight into this mindset and, by also looking at early creative tests, identify a possible framework for my own little exploration of a world. Exciting.

Comments are closed.

